AI agents for GTM and RevOps · Part 3 of 13

Build or buy an AI SDR

Three ways to get one, what each bills by at list price, who holds your mailboxes, data, messages and rules in each, and what to ask before you sign.

The short version

You can buy an AI SDR product, switch on the AI in the CRM or sequencer you already pay for, or build your own on Clay with a model and a sending tool. Each bills by a different unit, so price them all on one count: the contacts you’d actually write to in a month. Then map who holds the mailboxes, the contact data, the messages and the rules in each route, and ask what you keep if you leave.

  1. Three ways, and what each bills by
  2. Who holds what
  3. What to ask before you sign

Three ways, and what each bills by

An AI SDR product does the whole job in one place. The AI in your CRM or sequencer works where your contacts and sequences already are. Your own build uses Clay to find and enrich contacts, a model to write, and a sending tool to send. Each bills by a different unit.

BILLS BY LIST PRICE, 21 OCTOBER 2026 AN AI SDR PRODUCTTHE AI IN YOUR CRM OR SEQUENCERYOUR OWN BUILD Artisan11xHubSpot’s ProspectingagentInstantlyClaySmartlead A plan sized to leads contacted(about 2,500 or 6,000 a month),mailboxes and dialer seats Not stated: no pricing page Credits: 100 per lead it putsforward, plus the seats you pay for A monthly plan sized by contacts,emails and credits Actions and data credits; themodel runs on your own key Contacts and sends a month Not published: on request Not published: a demo instead $0.010 a credit, so $1.00 a lead(our arithmetic) $94 a month for the bundle thatlists an AI Sales Agent From $167 a month, for 15,000actions a month, billed yearly From $39 a month: 2,000 contactsand 6,000 sends

An AI SDR product

Artisan

Bills by
a plan sized to leads contacted (about 2,500 or 6,000 a month), mailboxes and dialer seats
List price
not published: on request

11x

Bills by
not stated: no pricing page
List price
not published: a demo instead

The AI in your CRM or sequencer

HubSpot’s Prospecting agent

Bills by
credits: 100 per lead it puts forward, plus the seats you pay for
List price
$0.010 a credit, so $1.00 a lead (our arithmetic)

Instantly

Bills by
a monthly plan sized by contacts, emails and credits
List price
$94 a month for the bundle that lists an AI Sales Agent

Your own build

Clay

Bills by
actions and data credits; the model runs on your own key
List price
from $167 a month billed yearly, for 15,000 actions a month

Smartlead

Bills by
contacts and sends a month
List price
from $39 a month: 2,000 contacts and 6,000 sends
What each route bills by, from the vendors’ pricing pages on 21 October 2026. The units differ, so price each on one count: the contacts you would actually write to in a month.

Take HubSpot’s Prospecting agent. HubSpot’s rate sheet charges 100 credits for each lead the agent puts forward for outreach, and extra credits cost $0.010 each, so that is $1.00 a lead. The unit is a lead put forward, not a lead written to, and one user reports what the difference costs:

“Even with ’Review before sending’ turned on, HubSpot Credits are consumed as soon as non-US contacts are surfaced, even if we never contact them.”

A user in the HubSpot Community, 5 October 2026

So price it on the leads you keep. If you write to half the leads it puts forward, each one costs $2.00 in credits, as an example. In HubSpot, set a credit limit for the agent before you switch it on, and plan by the month: Sales Hub includes 500 to 5,000 credits a month by edition, and unused ones don’t roll over.

Artisan and 11x publish no prices, so ask each for a quote at your volume, in leads contacted a month. To price your own build, run a sample of contacts through Clay’s Free plan, which includes 500 actions a month and takes your own model key, and count the actions one contact uses. Then add your sending tool’s plan and your model provider’s bill.

Who holds what

The price is one bill. The other is what stays behind if you switch. So for each route, find out where four things live: the domains and mailboxes it sends from, the contact data, the prompts and messages, and the rules.

AN AI SDR PRODUCTAI IN YOUR CRM OR SEQUENCERYOUR OWN BUILD such as Artisansuch as HubSpot or InstantlyClay, a model, a sending tool Sending domainsand mailboxesContact dataPrompts andmessagesThe rules exclusions, caps,approvals Your own domains;mailboxes in the plan Yours, or bought throughthe tool itself Yours, or bought throughClay or your sending tool The vendor’s database,synced with your CRM Records in your CRMor sequencer Your Clay tablesand your CRM In the vendor’s product In your CRM or sequencer Yours, in Clay andyour sending tool Settings in thevendor’s product Settings in your CRMor sequencer Yours to write, and toapply in every tool Ask who keeps themAsk who keeps thoseAsk who keeps thoseAsk what you keepAsk what you can export

An AI SDR product

Such as Artisan.

Domains and mailboxes
Your own domains; mailboxes in the plan. Ask who keeps them.
Contact data
The vendor’s database, synced with your CRM. Ask what you keep.
Prompts and messages
In the vendor’s product. Ask what you can export.
The rules
Settings in the vendor’s product.

AI in your CRM or sequencer

Such as HubSpot or Instantly.

Domains and mailboxes
Yours, or bought through the tool itself. Ask who keeps those.
Contact data
Records in your CRM or sequencer.
Prompts and messages
In your CRM or sequencer.
The rules
Settings in your CRM or sequencer.

Your own build

Clay, a model, a sending tool.

Domains and mailboxes
Yours, or bought through Clay or your sending tool. Ask who keeps those.
Contact data
Your Clay tables and your CRM.
Prompts and messages
Yours, in Clay and your sending tool.
The rules
Yours to write, and to apply in every tool.
Where each piece lives in each route. Each “Ask” marks something the pricing pages don’t settle: get the answer before you sign.

Start with the mailboxes. Artisan sends “in your reps’ names, from your own sending domains”, and sizes its plans to mailboxes too. Apollo’s credits give access to “domains & mailboxes”, on Clay’s Growth plan you can buy domains and emails for its sequencer, and Smartlead sells Google and Outlook mailboxes at $4.50 a month each. Wherever a tool bought them, ask whether they leave with you. In your own build every piece is yours, and so is the work of making Clay, the model and the sending tool apply the same rules.

What to ask before you sign

Ask the general questions in support part 3 too. These five are outbound’s own.

1

Whose domains and mailboxes does it send from?

Yours, in your reps’ names, or ones the vendor runs for you. Ask for the list, and whether those mailboxes move with you if you leave.

2

Does it read your CRM’s unsubscribes at the moment it sends?

If a contact unsubscribes in HubSpot at 9:00, a message due at 9:05 should not go. Ask how soon a new unsubscribe reaches it, then test it (part 6).

3

Can you cap messages per contact across your whole team?

Example Software, an invented company, allows a contact three messages in any 14 days, counted across its two SDRs and its AI SDR. A cap that counts only the AI SDR’s messages misses the rest (part 8).

4

Do leads you turn down still cost?

Ask what one unit is: a lead found, a lead put forward, or a contact written to. Then price it at the share of leads you would keep.

5

What else do you keep if you leave?

The contacts and enrichment you paid for, the sequences, and the history of who got which message, by date. Ask for the answer in writing.

Outbound’s own questions, for any vendor. If you build, each one is a step your build needs.

Next in this series

Part 4: contact data an AI SDR can trust. See all 13 parts.

Sources

  1. HubSpot, “HubSpot Product & Services Catalog”: seats, included credits, the credit price and the credits rate sheet, read on 21 October 2026.
  2. HubSpot Community, “Restrict automatically sourced contacts by geography in Prospecting Agent”, 5 October 2026, read on 21 October 2026.
  3. Artisan, “Artisan Plans & Pricing”, read on 21 October 2026.
  4. 11x: 11x, home page (no pricing page: its pricing address answers 404), which returns a page titled Not Found, and its homepage, read on 21 October 2026.
  5. Instantly, pricing, read on 21 October 2026.
  6. Clay, “Compare plans, features & costs”, read on 21 October 2026.
  7. Smartlead, pricing, read on 21 October 2026.
  8. Apollo, pricing, read on 21 October 2026.